Minor hockey hands out season awards


Two coaches and six skaters were singled out by the Olds Minor Hockey Association (OMHA) for their efforts during the 2016-17 hockey season. In addition, four South Central Alberta Hockey league (SCAHL) awards were handed out, prior to the group’s semi-annual general meeting, held on the Olds College campus last Wednesday night (April 12).

The individuals recognized by the OMHA were:

OMHA Coach of the Year: Pete Pillman

Best Player Development Coach: Georgina Swanby

Jack Curickshank Award (Goalie): Kim Simoneau

Brian Rinas Memorial Award (Midget): Nathan Mulholland

Les Wendleboe Memorial Hockey Scholarship (Peewee Goalie): Sawyer Marshall

Mr. Zec Most Coachable Player Award (Atom): Aislin Carrick

Pomeroy Community and Leadership Award (Bantam): Brooklyn Campbell

Tammy Moritz 110% Award (Peewee): Avery Trotter

The players honoured by the SCAHL were:

Most Sportsmanlike (Peewee AA): Owen Callow

Most Valuable Forward (Peewee AA): Austin Corsiatto

Best Defenseman (Peewee AA): Avery Trotter

Most Sportsmanlike (Bantam AA): Steven Bell

For photos and more details about the honourees, go to oldsalbertan.ca


About Author